Why Project CARS Might be Delayed on Wii U

I was like many Wii U owners towards the end of last week. Slightly Mad Studios announced that their game, Project CARS, would be coming this November on PS4, Xbox One, and PC. Wii U owners instantly noticed their missing console in the list, which was fairly disrespectful after the proclaimed Nintendo alliance earlier this year (see the Nintendo Enthusiast interview with Andy Tudor here).

I, like other Wii U owners looking forward to the racing sim, were baffled at the decision to release the game later than the other versions. It would be competing against more well known titles releasing around the same time, and, according to the Project CARS website, the Wii U was the most sought after platform. So the question remained: why? I was a bit frustrated, as I was really looking forward to the game, and definitely voiced my opinion. However, something arose that could explain this move, and Slightly Mad Studios wouldn’t necessarily be at fault for the delay.

After speaking with a source over the weekend, I discovered that there might be technical issues regarding the title on Wii U, causing the delay – Slightly Mad Studios wouldn’t have control over this as it might be out of their hands. I won’t say much more, as I’m still attempting to get into contact with someone over at the developer and don’t want to toss around rumors, but this possible technical issue did bring up an interesting point: we, as Wii U owners, need to be careful not to “scare” away developers like Slightly Mad Studios with instant malice to news like this. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still skeptical about the whole thing, and if I find out it isn’t a technical issue, but rather, they pushed it back to focus on the other platforms, I’m not going to be too happy.

The biggest fault, for me, has been the way the whole issue has been handled. Why didn’t they release a 1 minute gameplay clip of the Wii U version along with their statement? Why push it back so far with little explanation other than “we want to make it the best version we can?” They haven’t handled the issue well, and if this is, in fact, a technical issue setting them back, they need another plan of attack. Hopefully I’ll be able to get in contact with someone over at the developer soon, but until then, I’m going to hold judgment a while longer.

~Michael

Leave a Reply

